top of page
Our Local Councillors have a say in major planning decisions

Our local councillors for the Ottershaw ward are Malcolm Cressey, Carl Mann and John Olorenshaw. All are Independent and non-aligned to any national party

Screenshot 2021-04-19 at 20.27.02.png

Your Surrey County Council representative is Johnathan Hulley



Party: Conservative

Division: Foxhills, Thorpe & Virginia Water

Borough and District: Runnymede


The Ottershaw East proposed development will proceed because the Runnymede Local Plan was passed on a named vote as follows:


  • For (29): Councillors Adams, Anderson-Bassey, Broadhead, B Clarke, D Clarke, Cotty, Dennett, Edis, Furey, Gill, Gillham, J Gracey, T Gracey, Harnden, Heath, N King, R King, Kusneraitis, Mackay, Maddox, Mullens, Neathey, Nuti, Prescot, Snow, J Sohi, Walsh, Willingale and Wilson

  • Against (5): Councillors Burton, Cressey, Olorenshaw, D Whyte and S Whyte.

  • Abstention (5): Councillor Chaudhri, Howorth, Hulley, Lewis and P Sohi.


The minutes reflect that:


The Leader of the Independent Group stated that whilst the Plan had been judged sound by the Inspector, he considered that there were flaws in relation to Policies SL1-SL18 in respect of parcels of land allocated for development and their proposed densities. Development in these areas would be contentious and strongly opposed by residents who perceived the Local Plan did not support them. Particular mention was made of the Brox End Nursery site.

bottom of page